Annuity Atlas

Product review · GCU

Flex 8 review

Flex 8 is GCU's longest-surrender fixed annuity and, as of this snapshot, its highest-rated one — 5.60% against 5.15% on Flex 5 Advantage and 3.90%–5.00% (banded) on the shorter Triple Advantage Plus. The catch is that Flex 8 doesn't guarantee that rate for anywhere near eight years; like its siblings, it's an annually renewable product, so the rate you see today isn't the rate you're committing to for the life of the contract. You're accepting the family's longest walls in exchange for the family's best current number, with no multi-year lock to show for the extra years of exposure.

Who it suits

8-Year Accumulation Fixed Annuities (Annually Renewable, No Rider)
Buyers who want GCU's current best rate, are comfortable holding the contract for the full 8 years, and won't need more than the 10% free-withdrawal allowance
Get my free quote
Surrender
8 years
Issue ages
Up to 85
A.M. Best
A-
Free withdrawal
10%
01

Why it earned this rating

Our assessment

Flex 8 earns a solid rating because it currently carries the best rate anywhere in GCU's fixed-annuity family, comes with a low $300 minimum, no MVA, and immediate access to a 10% free withdrawal from day one. What holds it back from a higher score is structural: this is an annually renewable declared-rate contract, not a multi-year guaranteed annuity, so nothing in the brochure locks that 5.50% rate for more than a year, yet the surrender schedule commits your money for eight.

02

The short version

If you're drawn to Flex 8 because of the 5.60% headline rate, understand what you're actually agreeing to: one year of that rate, followed by seven more years of whatever GCU declares next, all while sitting inside a surrender schedule that doesn't fully unwind until year eight. That's a very different commitment than a MYGA that locks its rate for as long as it locks your money. I think Flex 8 can still make sense for someone who trusts GCU's renewal practices and mainly wants today's best rate in the lineup, but it's not the product I'd point to for anyone who wants price certainty matched to their time horizon.

03

Key facts

Surrender Period
8 years
Issue Ages
0 - 85
Minimum Premium
$300
Free Withdrawal
10% of Premiums Paid, available immediately
Income Rider
Not available
Premium Bonus
None
04

The full review

Is GCU Flex 8 a Good Annuity?

It can be, for a specific kind of buyer. GCU is an A- rated fraternal benefit society, the $300 minimum premium is about as accessible as fixed annuities get, there's no MVA to worry about, and the 10% free withdrawal is available immediately rather than making you wait a year like some of GCU's other products. Those are genuine positives. What keeps this from being an easy yes is the renewal structure: an 8-year surrender schedule paired with a rate that resets annually is a real ask, and the brochure doesn't disclose a bailout provision that would let you walk away penalty-free if a future renewal rate drops sharply.

Why Someone Would Buy This Annuity

The most obvious reason to buy Flex 8 right now is the rate — 5.60% is the top of GCU's current lineup, and for someone who wants a straightforward, no-frills fixed annuity with no index math and no rider complexity, that's an attractive entry point. A second reason is accessibility: a $300 minimum premium and immediate 10% liquidity make this an easy product to fund and to live with day-to-day compared to products that require five- or six-figure minimums.

Who This Annuity Is Best For

I think Flex 8 fits someone who has money they genuinely don't need for eight years, likes GCU as a carrier, and is buying mainly for the current rate rather than for a guaranteed multi-year lock. It's a reasonable fit for a fraternal-society member who values the simplicity of a single declared rate over an indexed strategy. It's a poor fit for someone who wants their rate locked for the full surrender term — that buyer is better served by a true MYGA like GCU's own Triple Advantage Plus, even at a lower headline rate — and it's not a fit for anyone who might need more than 10% of their money before year eight.

What You're Really Buying Here

You're not buying a multi-year rate guarantee. You're buying an annually renewable declared-rate fixed annuity: GCU sets a rate, credits it for a year, and then resets it — up or down — for the next year, and the next, for as long as you hold the contract inside its 8-year surrender period. The 5.60% figure in this review is this year's rate, not a promise about years two through eight. That distinction matters more here than on a shorter-surrender product, because you're carrying that renewal uncertainty for longer than on any other GCU fixed annuity.

How the Core Feature Works

The core mechanic is a single fixed account with one current interest rate — no indexed or structured strategies, no allocation choices. GCU declares a rate, currently 5.60%, and applies it to the account for the period the profile treats as "current." The document doesn't state a separate multi-year rate-guarantee period tied to the 8-year surrender schedule, and it tracks "Current" versus "Upcoming" rates separately, which is the hallmark of an annually renewable design rather than a locked-in MYGA term. There's also no bailout provision disclosed, so there's no contractual trigger that frees you from the surrender schedule if a renewal rate drops below some threshold.

Why the Secondary Feature Matters

The 10% free withdrawal matters more than it might on other GCU products because it's available immediately — you don't have to wait through a first contract year with zero access, the way you do on One Plus Four and Triple Advantage Plus. Between that and the fact that GCU also waives the surrender charge outright for a nursing-home confinement or a terminal-illness diagnosis (though the brochure doesn't spell out the specific eligibility rules for those waivers), there's more day-one flexibility here than the 8-year surrender number alone suggests. That said, the brochure doesn't show this allowance expanding in later years the way Flex 5 Advantage's does — Flex 5 Advantage steps up to 20% of the prior anniversary value starting year two, and nothing in Flex 8's profile indicates a similar increase.

Liquidity and Surrender Schedule

Flex 8 gives you 10% of premiums paid, available immediately, with no first-year waiting period — a genuine plus compared with GCU's own One Plus Four and Triple Advantage Plus, both of which withhold free withdrawals entirely until contract year two. There's no MVA here, so what you see in the surrender schedule below is what you'd actually pay on an excess withdrawal — there's no additional market-based adjustment layered on top. The schedule itself, though, is the longest of any GCU fixed annuity: eight full years before charges disappear, declining by a single point each year from 9% down to 2%. Surrender charges are also waived for nursing-home confinement or a terminal-illness diagnosis, on top of the standard 10% allowance, though specific eligibility terms for those waivers aren't detailed in this profile. Outside of the 10% allowance and those two waiver triggers, this money should be treated as committed for the full eight years.

Contract YearSurrender Charge
19%
28%
37%
46%
55%
64%
73%
82%
Fees and Tradeoffs

There's no explicit fee schedule disclosed in this profile — no rider fee, since there's no income rider or chronic-illness rider to attach one to, and no stated base-contract charge. The real cost here isn't a line-item fee; it's opportunity cost and renewal risk. You're giving up eight years of flexibility for a rate that's only committed for one, and if GCU's declared rate on renewal comes in meaningfully lower than 5.60%, you don't have a contractual off-ramp — no bailout provision is disclosed, and no MVA works in your favor either (it just isn't there, for better or worse). The MGSV floor of 1.00%-3.00% (varies by state) is the true worst case, and it's a modest one, but it's also a long way down from today's 5.60%.

Product snapshot
FeatureDetails
Product TypeFixed Annuity
Surrender Period8 years
Issue Ages0 - 85
Minimum Premium$300
Crediting MethodsFixed interest rate (single fixed account, no indexed/structured strategies)
MGSVVaries by state, 1.00% - 3.00% guaranteed annual return (premium base this rate applies to is not specified in this profile)
Death BenefitFull Account Value
Income RiderNot available
Premium BonusNone
AvailabilityNot approved in AK, AL, AR, HI, LA, MA, ME, MT, ND, NH, NM, NY, OK, OR, RI, SD, VT, WA, WY
Carrier snapshot

Legal Entity: GCU

A.M. Best Rating: A-

Final take

Flex 8 is a straightforward, accessible fixed annuity with today's best rate in GCU's lineup, a low minimum, no MVA, and better first-year liquidity than some of its siblings. The tradeoff is real, though: an 8-year surrender commitment attached to a rate that only GCU guarantees one year at a time is the longest renewal-risk exposure in the family, and the brochure doesn't offer a bailout provision to soften that risk if a future renewal disappoints. I'd call this a solid option for someone who wants GCU specifically and is comfortable riding out annual rate resets for eight years, and a pass for anyone who wants their rate locked for as long as their money is locked up — that buyer should look at Triple Advantage Plus instead, even at a lower current rate.

From the GCU product brochureper brochure, 2026-08-12
Death Benefit
Full Account Value
Minimum Guaranteed Surrender Value
Varies by state, 1.00% - 3.00% guaranteed annual return (premium base this rate applies to is not specified in this profile)
Withdrawal Provisions
Surrender charge is also waived (in addition to the standard 10% penalty-free withdrawal) upon Nursing Home confinement or a Terminal Illness diagnosis; specific eligibility terms for these waivers are not detailed in this profile.

Sources & standards

How we know what's on this page

Rates, terms & availability
Annuity Rate Watch, which aggregates carriers' filed rate sheets. Refreshed every night.
Financial strength
A.M. Best. We publish the carrier's letter rating rather than a score of our own.
Contract detail
The carrier's own brochure — minimum guaranteed surrender value, death benefit, RMD treatment, annuitization options, waiver riders and free-withdrawal terms. Where the brochure and the rate feed disagree, the brochure wins: it is the filed document. Where neither carries a fact, the page omits it. We do not fill gaps with estimates.

Rates, caps, and income figures in this review are snapshots as of their stated dates and change without notice. Any income amounts shown are quoted from carrier-filed rates under the stated inputs (age, premium, start date) — they are quotes, not projections of market performance and not a guarantee of future payments. Confirm current terms in the carrier's disclosure documents before making any decision.

Ready to see how it stacks up?

  • Income, fees & ratings compared
  • Across every reviewed product
  • 100% free. No pressure.
Compare annuities